Two Poems — Poetry by Lauren Davis

Stark Hollow Farm: Questions


What bird, in tall grass, weaves a nest inches

from the dirt? Trusts their young

to a world with creatures like myself,

fumbling around, photographing mountains

that shadow lesser mountains?

 

*

 

Trees in the forest blossom roseate

whether or not I visit. Why can’t I also

practice beauty for the sake of it, even if

my lover never shows at my door?

 

*

 

Where is everyone? Only moss

on this rock. Myself on the other.

 

*

 

When did I last lie in a field so empty

the wind startled me?

 

*

 

Who cares so little that they litter

the woods? I reach for the paper.

My hand fills with white blossoms.





I Hear of a Thing Called Spring


I am not your mother, dark and strange.

Tall orphan, I am sorry. In some countries

the seasons refuse to change.

 

If I could, I would force the clouds to misarrange,

but they stack like dead men in anthologies.

I am not your mother, dark and strange.

 

I am small hands, a deranged

child picking through ghost bodies.

The seasons refuse to change.

 

I hear of a thing called Spring where rage

only shows its face in the blood of berries.

I am not your mother, dark and strange.

 

I have prayed, tall orphan, and burned sage

to dissolve and refuse such eulogies:

the seasons refuse to change.

 

I cannot show you the weather’s range

when my sky echoes your sky. My sincerest apologies,

I am not your mother, dark and strange.

The seasons refuse to change.





Lauren Davis is a poet living on the Olympic Peninsula. She hold an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars, and her work has appeared or is forthcoming in journals such as Prairie Schooner, Spillway, and Clarion.

2 thoughts on “Two Poems — Poetry by Lauren Davis

  1. I like the perspective of this poet:
    STARK HALLOW FARM: QUESTIONS. In particular, I particularly liked the last stanza here: The intent to beautify….and the unexpected reward of the flowers.

    I HEAR A THING CALLED SPRING: The line(s) that i gravitated towards were “…I am not your mother, dark and strange”. If Lauren’s intent was to symbolize Earth as “not dark and strange”, then I concur: maybe mysterious and mis-understood–but not dark, strange (and evil) as many claim her to be.

    Thank you for sharing your writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great thoughts on Lauren’s work, Forest. “The unexpected reward of the flowers.” is a great line, and apt for springtime! Lovely work, Lauren.

      Like

What do you think about this piece?

